Members Login

Registered Members of GSDI Association can log in here. If the login form is not displayed, click on the 'Open Info' logo to the right.

Final GSDI Organisational Members

Final GSDI Organisational Members (2017)

The following organizations were Organisational Members of the GSDI Association in its final year of operation.


CIESIN - Columbia University - United States
Delft University of Technology, Netherlands - Netherlands
Department of Science and Technology - India
EuroGeographics - Belgium
Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) - United States
GeoCat - Netherlands
Hungarian Association for Geo-information (HUNAGI) - Hungary
Instituto Geografico Militar, (IGM) Chile - Chile
ITC International Institute for Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation - Netherlands
Laval University - Canada
National Geographic Information Infrastructure Division, NGIID, Survey Department - Nepal
Natural Resources Canada - Canada
Open Geospatial Consortium, Inc. - United States
Pan American Institute of Geography and History (PAIGH) - Mexico
PSMA Australia - Australia
Public Management Institute - KU Leuven - Belgium
Taiwan Geographic Information System Center - Chinese Taipei
University of Maine - United States
University of Melbourne, Centre for SDIs and Land Administration - Australia
University of New Brunswick - Canada
University of Southern Queensland - Australia

Founding Members

The following organizations and individuals are recognized as the permanent Founding Members and Sponsors of the GSDI Association. The list includes those who early on subscribed to the ideals and goals of the organization as set forth in the Bylaws and joined as members or sponsors prior to July 2003 in order to help ensure a solid start for the organization. Some founding members and sponsors may have chosen to remain anonymous.

Founding Full Members

Atlantic Institute
CIESIN - Columbia University
Committee on Development Information (CODI)-Geo
Delft University of Technology
Department of Science and Technology
European Umbrella Organization for Geographic Information (EUROGI)
Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC)
GISPOL - National Land Information System Users Association
Hungarian Association for Geo-information (HUNAGI)
Indian Space Research Organisation Headquarters
Intergraph Corporation
International Society on Digital Earth
National Geographic Information Infrastructure Programme, Survey Department
National Land Survey of Finland
Natural Resources Canada
Open Geospatial Consortium
State Bureau of Surveying and Mapping of China (SBSM)
University Consortium for Geographic Information Science (UCGIS)

Founding Associate Members

Institut Cartogràfic de Catalunya
Spatialnetworks Pvt. ltd.


The GSDI Association had two categories of membership - GSDI Organisational Members and GSDI Individual Members.

Organisational Members included government agencies, academic and research institutions and departments, commercial firms and not-for-profit organisations and NGOs.

Individual Members included professionals from the geo community and students at institutions of higher learning.

GSDI Organisational Members had one official representative Delegate on the GSDI Council, which was the ultimate decision-making body of the Association. Each Organisational Member had one vote on matters that required a vote of Council. GSDI Board of Directors members were chosen from the Delegates of the Councl.

GSDI Individual Members were formerly members of the International Geospatial Society (IGS) which was a separate wing of the GSDI Association, discontinued in 2015 as part of the 5-year GSDI Strategy and Action Plan 2015-2020, due to confusion that arose from some stakeholders, members and supporters concerning the role and legal status of IGS versus the Association.

GSDI Individual Members collectively had one vote on the GSDI Board of Directors via the 'Director, Individual Member Representative'.

 See the list of GSDI Founding Members from 2004 - Founding Members.